Local authorities (councils) play a central role in governing Wales as they provide the local leadership and services necessary for their communities.

There are 22 local authorities in Wales delivering over 700 local services, including:

for example providing schools, transport to get children to school and providing opportunities for adult learning.
such as finding accommodation for people in need and maintaining social housing.
for example caring for and protecting children, older people and disabled people.
including maintaining roads and managing traffic flow.
including collecting rubbish and recycling.
for example providing libraries, leisure services and arts venues.
such as enforcing trading standards and licencing taxis.
for example making sure that the food provided in pubs and restaurants is safe to eat, and controlling pollution locally.
including managing local development and making sure buildings are safe.
for example attracting new businesses and encouraging tourism.
for things like floods or terrorist attacks.
About local councils

Site developed and hosted by Data Cymru on behalf of the Welsh Local Government Association

© 2024 Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA)